And Then There Were Four

As my developmental editing career grows, so does my family

Lee G. Hornbrook
3 min readJan 6, 2024
Photo by 🇸🇮 Janko Ferlič on Unsplash

If you’re ready for an editor, I can help you tell your story your way. Hi, I’m Lee, and I’m a developmental editor.

I’ve been in the business of helping writers for 35 years, mostly as a college English teacher. After a couple of years of dedicated study and courses from Club Ed Freelancers, I’ve successfully transitioned to a freelance career.

I enjoy editing immensely. It’s intellectually challenging, infinitely varied, and rewarding. If I could edit all day and night, I would.

But I also have a full life away from my work. I’m also a writer. I’m enjoying this 2nd or 3rd golden age of film and streaming series. I’m a lifelong video game player, an avid reader, a hiker and walker, and I’ve been learning guitar for the past 3 1/2 years. My partner and I have moved coast-to-coast 4 times from 2018 to 2022 — the pandemic surprise!

Today, we added to our family with Starbuck, a 6-month old female tortoise shell kitten that we adopted. Underweight and scrawny, cuddly and playful, she’s a delightful addition to our family that includes Herman (after Melville), the 5-year old dachshund.

--

--

Lee G. Hornbrook

Writer, Writing Coach, Writing Process Expert. I can help you become a better writer. Follow at leehornbrook.substack.com